International Hot-Air Balloon Festival

By the time I was all settled in, January had all but snuck by me. Luckily for me, I still got to taste a little swiss festivities at the International Hot-Air Balloon Festival in Château-d’Oex.

M took one of her grandson’s and me to the children’s afternoon. The drive there was lovely and scenic, taking us over hills and in and around mountains. Unfortunately it was a cloudy day so there weren’t very many balloons out (they are not allowed to fly when it’s cloudy). But none the less I had fun taking pictures and watching (adorable) children take rides in the balloons.

The little orange blimp flew around all afternoon, giving people rides (expensive ones, I'm sure).

The little orange blimp flew around all afternoon, giving people rides (expensive ones, I’m sure).

Who is this fantastic person?

Who is this fantastic person?

Kids taking a balloon ride.

Kids taking a balloon ride.

Despite the bad weather, there were quite a lot of people there.

Despite the bad weather, there were quite a lot of people there.

Just one of the lovely views on the way to the festival. I really liked the view of the mountains beyond the clouds.

Just one of the lovely views on the way to the festival. I really liked the view of the mountains beyond the clouds.

One thought on “International Hot-Air Balloon Festival

Leave a Reply

